cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Avoiding DC and Baltimore Tunnel?

water_witch
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, so apologies for my ignorance at the start. My husband just passed away in FL two months ago, where I am and have been wintering, and I'm going to drive my MH home to NJ from FL three weeks from now.

I've found his trip plans for a return trip to NJ but can't make sense of his travel plans around DC and around the tunnel in Baltimore.

This is what I think his plans say:
I I95 til MD mile marker 22 to Baltimore Washington Parkway/MD I695 for 30 miles, then over the Francis Scott Key Bridge, meeting up with I 95 again at exit 64.

Does anybody know this route? Do I understand his notes correctly and, if yes, is this the right way to go?

I am a very novice navigator and driver so please be very specific in responses. (I drove the MH home from FL last year but he was in the passenger seat navigating for me :() Thanks for any help.
7 REPLIES 7

ependydad
Explorer
Explorer
Atlee wrote:
And OP also needs to know that the bridge from Virginia to Maryland on US 301 is also two lane, and not 4 lane.

And painfully intense. I hated driving that bridge with my pop-up and it was worse with my fifth wheel. That Harry P. Nice bridge is neither- hairy or nice. 😞

For water witch, if they're relative newbies to driving the motorhome. Stick with I-95 until you get close to Baltimore. Around Richmond and DC, stick with 55-60mph and let slow & steady win the race. If you're lucky, you'll hit traffic and it'll slow down. I personally don't mind stop and go traffic- it's slow and less stressful (except for the extra time it takes).