cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hannibal MO to Rochester NY to Saguenay Quebec Canada

fimk
Explorer
Explorer
We will be traveling in Class A with tow from just north of Hannibal Mo to Rochester NY then from Rochester to Saguenay Canada this August. I have very little driving experience in this part of the country and no driving experience in Canada. GPS has suggested two routes to Rochester one was I55 to Chicago then I80/I90 the other was I72 I74 to Columbus then I71 to Cleveland then I80.
From Rochester NY to Saguenay Canada the gps takes us north into Canada on I81 then east in Canada on I20 thru Montreal and I40 to Quebec then north out of Quebec.
My concerns are the cost of tolls across I80/I90 (4 axles) and road constuction. Both route to Rochester appear to have a lot of construction.
My other concerns are driving in Quebec and Montreal. Are the road signs like ours? Are they well marked? Is traffic and driving better or worse than driving in large US cities? I have no idea what to expect.
Ken and Cindy Frericks
2 Shiba Inus: Sox and Ditka
2007 Sportscoach Cross Country 382DS
2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
Come visit us at...
www.frerxadventures.com
6 REPLIES 6

Can-AmDuo
Explorer
Explorer
Do yourself a favor when in Canada, it's the 401 east in Ontario which becomes the 40 in Quebec. AVOID AT ALL COSTS going through Montreal by taking the 30 EST/ EAST. There is a toll but it is only on the new bridge, I don't know what it would be for your rig but it was only $2 when I went with the car. Stay on the 30 until you see a sign for the 20 EST/EAST. 20 east to the 73 which takes you back over the St Laurence near Quebec City. 73 in Quebec will get you to the 40 north of the City.
Safe travels.
Brenda
Life is partly what we make it, and partly what it is made by the friends we choose.

fimk
Explorer
Explorer