cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Parking 5th in National Parks

AMS67067
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to 5th wheels. I have a truck camper for the last 15 years and never paid attention to what people do with the truck in these small NP sites.

I have a small (28') 5er on order. I see a lot on sites that at Glacier NP listed as 27'.

Is 1 foot a big deal.

I know it is site specific, but are the sites a NP that specific or can most accomodate a little bigger rig?

Where do you park the the truck?

Thanks,

Al
7 REPLIES 7

maddog348
Explorer
Explorer
lookout for the ranger before looking atta limb with a pole saw in your hand.

JM2ยข ~~ YMMV

RoyF
Explorer
Explorer
Pole saw? No, but that's not a bad idea. But looking up? Yes, always. Be careful when driving in towns, where low-hanging tree limbs can do damage. Even in RV campgrounds, look out for tree limbs before backing into your site. It's wise to get out and look things over before backing in where there are trees.

AMS67067
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the input. A learning curve going to a 5er. Things I did not have to think about.

Another question, Do most of you carry a pole saw and a steep ladder? Having a roof the 12.5' tall makes me think I need to look up a lot.

al

PawPaw_n_Gram
Explorer
Explorer
Some campground max RV or trailer lengths are set by the turns and obstructions in the campground or on the road to the campground.

A site might be much longer that the listed length but the road too narrow, a tree or a boulder obstructing the room a person uses to get the rig turned to get into the spot.

I once had to get six people to move their pickups so I could get into a reserved spot. Tow trucks lined both sides of the campground loop road parked across the front of their camp site. The rangers really should have made people not block the road. But the overflow parking area for trucks that did not fit on the campsite was almost a half mile away.
Full-Time 2014 - ????