cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Season Opening Dates for Campgrounds on southern routes

Cqyqte
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RVing and am planning our first trip south this February. I have a destination chosen, but now I am searching for a list of campsites that would be open at that time on the many routes south. Being Canadian I am used to seasonal dates and find it odd that some of the northern states campgrounds don't list open/closed dates on their websites. If anyone knows of a list or individual campgrounds that are open in February on the popular routes to Florida from Toronto and could point me in the right direction I would be grateful. I am pretty sure we will be selecting one night in a motel on our way south before we get into warmer weather.
11 REPLIES 11

DavidandDayle
Explorer
Explorer
We tend to stop at Harbortown for the first night as it's an easy trip from Toronto and you may get border delays. The campground is as good as you could expect in winter. Call first. If you arrive late, you have to pay through the mail slot.
A day's drive south gets us to Corbin in southern Kentucky. Deoending on the weather, you may be able to de-winterize and re-winterize there.
The next day usually gets us past Atlanta. There should be no further concerns.
We like to allow an extra night or two on the trip before our permanent stop.
A lot of campgrounds north of the Mason-Dixon line close at Thanksgiving, either theirs or ours.
David and Dayle

almcc
Explorer
Explorer
When we go south each winter we stop at the following "open all year" full service campgrounds. We start early (in November) but these CG's are set up with heated water taps so you should have water over the winter.

Harbortown RV resort in Monroe Michigan
Bluffton Fort Wayne South KOA
Woods N Waters RV park near Columbus Indiana
Bowling Green Ky KOA

Probably not on your route to Florida (we head west to California) but Natchez Trace State Park near Jackson Tn.