cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

AGM Battery Charging with Solar

CJM1973
Explorer
Explorer
This is my first attempt ever at solar so I'm learning as I go.

I've recently installed two 100 watt polycrystalline panels on the roof of my RV. I have a relatively new bank of AGM deep cycle 12 Volt batteries from Weize (three 100 amp hours).

I purchased and use a Victron 712 battery monitor (which works great). I decided to buy a Victron Bluesolar 100/20 amp solar charge controller to harness the panel voltage. The problem I'm faced with is the recommended settings on that controller for my battery type and brand. I'm reading conflicting advice online. Weize has this stickered on each battery:

Cycle use: 14.5 - 14.9V
Stand-by use: 13.5 - 13.8V

I've read that AGMs should be limited to 14.4V during cycle use (I'm assuming this is another name for asorbsion??) and 13.2V for Stand-by use (another name for float charge??)

I've also read that undercharging weakens AGMs more than overcharging. Not sure if this a truly accepted statement.

I'm looking for ideal charging parameters for the longest life of these batteries. In addition, I did purchase the temperature sensor for the Victron SCC.

Any help with these controller settings is much appreciated.
13 REPLIES 13

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
CJM1973,

I think dc to DC units are the bomb! Which one do you have and is there a link?

You will want a way to measure the amps going into the battery bank. For three 100 amp-hour jars, fully charged would be an acceptance rate of about 1.5 amps. When that number is reached, it would be nice to move back to float voltage.
Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
I would leave the voltages, just adjust the absorption time.

My Morningstar controller has three settings based on battery start voltage.