cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RV shore power plugged into inverter run by 12v battery and 100w solar panels

Mrssimmons19
Explorer
Explorer

I have the ThunderBolt Magnum 4 25w Solar Panels (100w) Kit, that I use to charge my 12V battery and sometimes the 2nd battery for my RV to use my 750w power inverter for electricity in my RV, my question is when all that is hooked up like it's supposed to be and my inverter is ready to have something plugged in to power on would it be okay to plug in my RVs shore power cord (with 3prong wall outlet adapter needed) directly into my power inverter and have it run my RV like it would at campgrounds ect.....???? I've googled it in so many different ways and can't seem to get a direct answer that I understand fully. I'm new to all of this solar stuff and rv stuff. 

14 REPLIES 14

time2rollagain
Explorer II
Explorer II

Yes in general this works.  Works to the limit of battery capacity and two batteries may not last long.  And assuming this is a 30 amp RV really needs 3600 watts to run everything normal, the 750 watts will limit what can be run.

Microwave, A/C, electric water heater must remain off.  Fridge must be set to propane only or may draw 350 watts near continuous and drain the battery.  Most coffee makers etc are 1000+ watts.

Run a small tv, charge phones and a laptop is all good.  What else do you expect to run?

There are some inverters that cannot be connected to the RV system and the RV battery as they don't like the negative battery and inverter sharing the same ground.  Need to isolate the battery so that it connects only to the inverter.

StirCrazy
Navigator
Navigator