cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5th wheel lube

Diamond_c
Nomad
Nomad
This may have been covered before but I can’t find it. I drive a truck for a living and grease my 5th wheel at least once a month. I’ve also have been looking at other folks that have a 5er and haven’t seen anybody that greases their hitch. My question is why not? We have just purchased one and will be picking it up sometime in the next 2 weeks so I really need to know. Thanks.
15 REPLIES 15

laknox
Nomad
Nomad
garyp4951 wrote:
I had to get the thinner lube plate so my hitch jaws would lock correctly.

Yes. The lube plates come in 2 or 3 different thicknesses, so you need to get one that will work with your hitch. I remember reading a number of years ago, where a guy ended up ditching his hitch because the fit was so tight that NO lube plates would work and he hated having to grease the hitch plate. AFAIK, most mfrs do have a recommendation for which plate to use.

Lyle
2022 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Denali Crew Cab 4x4 Duramax
B&W OEM Companion & Gooseneck Kit
2017 KZ Durango 1500 D277RLT
1936 John Deere Model A
International Flying Farmers 64 Year Member

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
garyp4951 wrote:

What hitch?
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

garyp4951
Explorer III
Explorer III

MNRon
Explorer
Explorer
Another benefit to my Pullrite Superglide, the king pin is locked so it doesn’t swivel. It’s recommended to lube with wd40 - not nearly as messy as grease. Ive done this for ~7yrs and >50k miles and all is good. I do clean up and check the hitch every year or two.
Ron & Pat
2022 F350 Lariat CCSB SRW Diesel
2019 VanLeigh Vilano 320 GK

YUP, another Lube Plate User here.

That is just an example of what is available
Me-Her-the kids