cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Back up bearing kit

Cougarnewbie
Explorer
Explorer
My local farm store has replacement trailer bearing kits by timken. I would like to get a kit to carry with me as a backup. They have a 1 inch, 1 1/4 inch, and a 3/4 inch kit. My seals are 2 1/8 inch I D , so I don't know where to measure to decide which kit I need. I have the original bearing numbers, but get lost trying to cross reference. Any suggestions? I depend on you folks.
Thanks
AL
May All Your On Ramps be Downhill
26 REPLIES 26

wandering1
Explorer
Explorer
Homey B wrote:
OK, I'm new to RV owning, and maybe I missed something here.

We're all talking about changing hubs/spindles/bearings on the side of the road, after an at-speed failure, when we have the spouse/kids/pets all going crazy about "where are we? what happened to the trailer? what are you doing? when will we be going again?"

Talk about steely nerves... For me, there's a time/place for roadside assistance, and this seems like one of them.

IMHO, of course. YMMV, as it quite possibly does.

Keep your bearings packed like your owners manual says and you shouldn't have any problems. I have never had a problem in the past 20 years with bearings.
HR

wandering1
Explorer
Explorer
Why do you think you would need to carry a spare set of bearings?
HR

NEWS4US
Explorer
Explorer
You can get Timken Bearings at Autozone. They handle most of our Timken product.

agesilaus
Explorer II
Explorer II
Well I didn't do it at roadside, happily there was an exit and CG close by where I noticed the problem. Just north of SLC. But I did the repair at the CG and had a heck of a time finding the parts I needed. But that was mainly because my hub uses the Dexter Nev'r lube bearings. Finding the bearings was not a problem but the other hardware: e clips, washer and so on were a big problem. Since I caught the problem right away, or rather someone else flagged me down, the hub and axle were OK.

BK