cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Damaged 5er hitch by backing too hard

RoyF
Explorer
Explorer
I've been hitching up for many years with no problem until this summer.
The hitch head is supposed to be a little higher than the kingpin. But this time, it must have been several inches higher. As I slowly backed into the kingpin the truck was stopped by the pin box, which did not rise up to engage.

I pressed the gas pedal a little with no result. Now the big mistake: I pressed the gas pedal a little bit more. This time, the 2021 F350 (with 1,000 foot-pounds of torque) lurched back and made a very hard impact with the trailer.

The upshot was that both my front jacks and my (brand new) hitch head were damaged. The jacks would operate, but only slowly (the motor was really struggling). The hitch release arm could be pulled out only by rigging up a hydraulic jack. Total cost: more than $1,000.

Don't do what I did. If your pin box does not lift up to engage easily as you are slowly backing then get out and raise the pin box.
34 REPLIES 34

rhagfo
Explorer III
Explorer III
blofgren wrote:
laknox wrote:
rhagfo wrote:
laknox wrote:
I posted this a while ago, but after 15 years of RVing, I managed to forget to latch my hitch and dropped my FW on the bed. What happens when you get in a hurry.

Lyle

Well I also forgot to latch the Reese twin jaw hitch we have once. Drove for almost twenty miles, fast, slow, turns, over RR tracks, and highway. I was taking the 5er to scale it at a local weigh station, was a bit surprised when I went to release the hitch, to scale just the TV.