cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dual pivot vs Single pivot Fifth wheel Hitch

Templar1
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, I have a newbie question. I am a commercial truck driver who has just moved from a truck camper to a small fifth wheel trailer. I have a Dakota and I will be towing a single axle Travelaire. My question is single pivot vs dual pivot, and what experience people have had with them. Obviously tractor trailers fifth wheels pivot for and aft, not side to side, but commercial equipment is much tougher than recreational equipment.

I am leaning towards a dual pivot head because my plans include some unpaved roads, and some light logging roads. Thanks in advance for the feedback.
13 REPLIES 13

pressure_welder
Explorer
Explorer
little overkill for your application, but i love my reese signature series 20k
2015 RAM cummins 3500 dually Limited
2018 Montana high country
crestliner sportfish

WeBeFulltimers
Explorer
Explorer
MFL wrote:
jerem0621 wrote:
Buy a B&W Patriot.

X2

X3.
2012 Ford F-350 PSD SRW ** CURT Q24 ** 2018.5 MONTANA 3791RD

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II
jerem0621 wrote:
Buy a B&W Patriot.

X2

fj12ryder
Explorer III
Explorer III
The B&W Companion is a 4 way and it seems to me that it is just easier on the 5th wheel if the hitch can move rather than putting a lot of stress on the connection area of the 5th wheel pin.

I don't believe that I would own a 2-way hitch.
Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

Passin__Through
Explorer
Explorer
Two way? No way!
Four way, yay!:B
2008 Chevrolet 2500HD Duramax 4x4 CCSB; Superglide 16k hitch w/3" lift kit; Titan 52-gallon replacement fuel tank :C
2007 HitchHiker II LS 26.5RLBG Mor/Ryde pinbox:B

JIMNLIN
Explorer
Explorer
TucsonJim wrote: