Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to RVing, Looking into a 5th Wheel

MuseMaiMKR
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All,

I am new to RVing (as in I do not yet have a TT or TV) and I am looking at a 2001 Skyline Layton Rampage 3300 with no slides. To tow it I am looking at a 1993 Chevrolet Silverado Crew Cab Dually with the 7.4L in it. I do prefer a diesel, but I am mainly looking for a TT and TV to start with, there is always room for upgrading and modifying once I have a place to start.

The TV has a UWV of 8210 lbs and a GVWR of 12100 lbs. The TT has a Gross Trailer Weight of 10000 lbs and a max Rear Axle Weight of 7500 lbs. The TV has 2 axles also. With these stats, will the truck be able to tow the trailer within safe limitations? I have looked at the equation for figuring out if the TV exceeds the TT limits, but I'm still not able to understand it. 😕 If I am missing any variables to the equation, please let me know and I will post them to this thread.

Thank you for your time in reading this and replying to it. Take care and God Bless.

Very Respectfully,

Muse
14 REPLIES 14

MuseMaiMKR
Explorer
Explorer