cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Propane frig on while driving?

babun
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to Rv'ing so excuse this question.....

I've heard the importation of a level camper so the the refig works correctly.
Also heard all the horror stories... dead refig in minutes, end of the world, teenage daughter gets pregnant, if the camper is not level.

I have a mountain climb on I40 in east tenn. that is quite steep and long, about 7 miles of driving. I'm sure there are steeper and longer grades out there.

Does your refig blow up as you crest the top??
41 REPLIES 41

ttempleton
Explorer
Explorer
Doing it for years,no prob
Templeton
2003 DP Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40 PST

austinjenna
Explorer
Explorer
There are propane powered vehicles running around and they dont seem to care.

2010 F350 CC Lariat 4x4 Short Bed
2011 Crusader 298BDS 5th Wheel
Reese 16K

BB_TX
Nomad
Nomad
Religion, politics, and running refrigerators while traveling should never be argued. No one ever convinces the other side he/she is right. :B

Coach-man
Explorer
Explorer
Is even transporting propane dangerous? Well yes, as well as transporting gasoline, and a bunch of other stuff! I guess it comes down to your definition of dangerous, does that mean every time you leave the house, (the house is dangerous also, home accidents), you are going to be killed? Or does it mean that something has the possibility of happening? Yes, under the right circunstances with the moon aligning with mars, the propane system could develope a leak and explode and burn your RV to the ground. Will it, probably not. Gasoline is just as "dangerous" or more so, but we use it every day, almost 50,000 people are killed every year in auto accidents, do we ban cars? No, we live with the possibilities.