cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Residence refrigerator

3ares
Explorer
Explorer
Has anyone ever tried using a residence refrigerator? If so have you used dry ice for cooling while traveling?

Thanks and happy camping
2016 F250 Super Duty 4x2 Crew Cab XLT
6.7 Power Stroke
6 Speed Transmission
3.31 Electronic Locking Axle
Pullrite 16K Super Glide Hitch
2012 Sundance 275 RE XLT Fithwheel
21 REPLIES 21

jtaylor1920
Explorer
Explorer
jrstout89 wrote:
Will be upgrading our fifth wheel in about a year for going full time. Quick question, what is the upside to residential fridges? I've been using a small 2-way for 8 years now with no problems. We went to an rv show last month and there were a lot of larger 2-way frigdes in the models we were looking at. Plenty of space for the Wife and I. So why a residential, I'd like to know before I buy next year. Thanks.

We just bought a new rig and I decided to go with the two way fridge as I thought of the few times weโ€™ve overnighted without hookups where itโ€™s been nice to run the refrigerator on propane. Well after a few months of dealing with cooling issues with our Norcold 2118 Iโ€™m regretting that decision. Our 2118 is a piece of junk. Out of the gate weโ€™ve had nothing but issues keeping food at safe temps. Norcold support and our dealer have been useless at fixing the issue. I went over the entire installation to make sure it was installed according to specs and Cardinal did it right, but still no luck getting it to cool properly until I added more fans to improve air circulation behind the refrigerator. A friend has the exact same trailer and has no issues. I guesss itโ€™s just my bad luck as the Dometic in my last trailer failed. If I had to do it again Iโ€™d go residential and be done with it.
John, Laurie & the 2 Schnauzers (Mazie & Obi)
2016 GMC Duramax Dually
2018 Cardinal 3350RLX
B&W Companion Hitch

Veebyes
Explorer II
Explorer II