cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tool Box on Tow Truck ???

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
I am new to FW (on order not arrived yet) having moved from a TT. I have a short bed 2016 Chevy 2500 TV that I use for work. The TV has a "standard" above the rails tool box.

Will it be necessary to remove the tool box when I connect to the FW to keep the FW from hitting the tool box?

If I can not use a standard tool box, can you suggest a below the rail tool box that will be flush with the rails?

Any suggestions is welcome. Thanks.
Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos
8 REPLIES 8

jnharley
Explorer
Explorer
We have a Highwayman tool box plus a HighwaymanCompanion box. They are below the truck rails and we have had them for a long time and they hold up well. We have to be careful to make sure we clear the companion box when hitching/unhitching but normally we encounter no problems at all. We are full timers and my spouse carries lots of tools.
2015 Dodge Dually
2012 NuWa Discover America 355CK

jay5er
Explorer
Explorer
No---Had the same combo and tool box was no problem!!

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
HighwayProducts are TOP CABIN.

New this is over $1,000, I was lucky found on CL for $350. 30" front to back.

2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

BarryG20
Explorer
Explorer
There are a variety of manufacturers that make toolbox/chest that sit on the floor of the bed and are flush with the top rails.
such as this one
https://www.deezee.com/product/red-label-fifth-wheel-utility-chest-black/
or here are a couple other styles