cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Truck towing capacity

banjoguync
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, so me and my family (wife and 3 sons) are considering buying a 5th wheel trailer and need some info as far as what to look for in weight. I have a 05 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L V8 Diesel dually and loaded with us and our stuff about 1000lbs extra.....Im new to this and while I found this site I don't know how to make sense of it. Its a Crewcab 4x2

https://www.fleet.ford.com/resources/ford/general/pdf/towingguides/2005_Towing_Guide.pdf

Can anyone help me, what weight should I be looking at for a 5th wheel without going to heavy? Id like to go low to be honest
15 REPLIES 15

Sport45
Explorer
Explorer
RustyJC wrote:
Sport45 wrote:
As a quick screening check without looking at any numbers, I'm guessing your truck could handle just about any 5th wheel trailer with two axles. If it has three axles I'd take a closer look at the ratings.

Of course, you should always check the weights to be sure before buying.

A 21K GVWR DRV Elite Suites 38RSSA has two axles. Are you REALLY saying the OP's truck can handle it?

No, I'm not REALLY saying that. Didn't I put a "just about" in there? 😉
’19 F350 SRW CCLB PSD Fx4
'00 F250, CC SWB 4x2, V-10 3.73LS. (sold)
'83 F100 SWB 4x2, 302 AOD 3.55. (parked)
'05 GMC Envoy 4x2 4.2 3.73L.
'12 Edge 2.0 Ecoboost
'15 Cherokee Trailhawk

SoCalDesertRid1
Explorer
Explorer
RustyJC wrote:
Sport45 wrote:
As a quick screening check without looking at any numbers, I'm guessing your truck could handle just about any 5th wheel trailer with two axles. If it has three axles I'd take a closer look at the ratings.

A 21K GVWR DRV Elite Suites 38RSSA has two axles. Are you REALLY saying the OP's truck can handle it?
It should handle any 2 axle trailer, with single 15" wheels, and most 2 axle trailers, with single 16" wheels.

If the trailer has duals, or 19.5's, all bets are off, pending further investigation.