cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to decide which way to go on fifth wheel hitch

RooDude09
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I are looking to switch to a fifth wheel from a bumper pull. I have a 2015 F-250 with short bed. The trailer we are looking at is equipped with a turning point pin box. I’ve seen and read some things on the internet that make me question the stability of system when towing and the blocking mechanism to keep the pin from turning in the hitch. I know my other option is to put in a sliding hitch and I’d be most comfortable with an automatic slider but that drives the price up substantially. My truck was previously outfitted with a rail system of some sort but everything is gone but the holes are in the bed. I’ve priced out the factory ford prep kit but it looks like puck style hitches are more expensive although I have the means to put it in myself as I’m a mechanic at a ford dealer. If anyone could give me they’re advice on what you like/use it would be greatly appreciated.
28 REPLIES 28

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
dieseltruckdriver wrote:
MFL wrote:

Well said 2014... and adding the turnover ball a waste, unless actually needed for a different goose neck trailer.

Jerry

I sat thinking my last post over for quite a while, and actually deleted what I am about to say.

As a former truck driver, if I bought a vehicle with an Anderson hitch, I wouldn't use it any farther than to get me home. No different than any sliding bar hitch.

Not sure what being a former truck driver ,and the Andersen hitch has to do with anything, but truck driver or not, how many miles you put on a Andersen hitch :h . I have put a few thousand now on a rail mount steel Andersen ,so I have been a bit further then just getting home 🙂

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
dieseltruckdriver wrote:
cummins2014 wrote:
WTP-GC wrote:
This thread doesn’t need to go real far.