cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacement for Onan 4000

CodyClassB
Explorer II
Explorer II
My Onan 4000 which only has about 80 hours stops working. I think it is because I do not exercise it monthly. I pay around $300 to replace the caburator, but I am thinking about buying a portable generator (link below) . Questions:

1. Will 2000W generator able to run AC in a 22 ft RV (Model is winnie minnie 22r)
2. Do you still have to exercise portable generators monthly?

thanks

https://www.walmart.com/ip/A-iPower-SUA2000i-2000W-Digitial-Inverter-Generator/784816626?irgwc=1
35 REPLIES 35

HTElectrical
Explorer
Explorer
Double Dose your fuel with Stabil, and you should never have a problem, as long as you run it every 2 to 3 months. I have been doing this for 11 years with my 4000.
2007 Duramax, Cognito 7"-9" Lift,

klutchdust
Explorer II
Explorer II
I especially like this comment by grit Dog

"Just stop taking it places that charge $300 to replace a $30-60 carburetor. "

There are mobile mechanics out there that are ready and willing to work on just about anything.

I would suggest that one seeks out a mechanic in their area and check out their services and cost.

Now, I had my rototiller give me issues after storage even though I had fuel additive in the gas.

A product called mechanic in a bottle was suggested and is available at the big box orange store.

Well, as skeptical as I am i purchased, followed instructions and guess what, it idled smooth as

silk.

jack_the_Machin
Explorer
Explorer
You can buy a replacement carburetor on eBay for less than $40.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2512315.m570.l1311.R4.TR11.TRC2.A0.H1.Xonan+4000.TRS0&_nkw=onan+4000+carburetor&_sacat=0

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
It’s understandable not everyone has the spare time to exercise their stored vehicles, tools, equipment and toys.