Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Microsoft Office for FREE

Fizz
Explorer
Explorer
This is news to me.
You have to be online much like Google Docs.
You use it within the browser but it can create a shortcut to a more finished looking app.

They explain it better than I can here....

Office
12 REPLIES 12

Keaton_Bennett
Explorer
Explorer
It works for me.

jodeb720
Explorer
Explorer
As an IT Professional, I can tell you there's a lot of power in the Microsoft Office Suite of apps.

When Microsoft had a "use it at home" offer for large companies (you can install it for free at home, so long as you didn't run it in both locations at the same time) it was a deal. it was a 10 dollar admin fee and you downloaded and had a full copy of office at home.

But as with all things designed to suck money out of our wallet, all the major software vendors (including Microsoft) now "rent" software for an annual fee.

Just about the same time this "renting" of software came about, I looked at Libre Office - which was eventually purchased by Oracle - and then moved to Open Office.

Open office has the look and feel of Office 2003 - 2010 range. It's got the cute little icons, but for some of us, the Menu navigation is also still there.

It can export the files in Microsoft Office format so you can exchange files with folks who still have MS Office without reformatting the file(s).

I run it on my Mac, Windows and Linux boxes and it's seamless between each Operating System.

Oh - one more thing. As I write this note, I'm using a 12 year old Macbook - which has Open Office on it. I've got a 3 year old Raspberry Pi (linux based) which I run it on, and my primary workstation is a Windows 10 i5 based box. DW has a 4 year old Dell Laptop with 24gb of RAM, i5, and a 256GB SSD - all of which run Open office. And she also has a 12 year old Macbook - she has never complained about switching interfaces using Open Office at home and MS Office at work.

Just my two cents.