Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large family problem (we are 8)

alegoje
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone!

What would the options be for a family of 8? I am currently considering the vehicle. The Ford Expedition tows 9,200 lbs with the tow package and we also like the Nissan NV Passenger which tows 8,700 lbs.

Are there any travel trailers light enough too accommodate so many? Camping with the whole family would be my dream vacation, but I am not sure my desire is realistic.

What other vehicles would you consider, and what travel trailers, that could achieve the goal?

I am completely new to towing and RV's so I beg for your patience and help! 🙂

Thank you!
23 REPLIES 23

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
Chevy Express 3500 passenger van is another tow vehicle option. To sleep eight, yes there are options, even in relatively light trailers, if the children can double up in beds and you don't mind using convertible spaces for sleeping. Comfortable living space for that many could require more trailer than you might be able to tow, all depending on your own needs and living space expectations.

FWIW, our family of ten made a three week trip with a 16-foot trailer under 5000 pounds (might be called 18-19 foot today). This one had an overhang bunk over the tongue, to hold a double bed, a twin-size bed converted from a front dinette, a rear gaucho converting to a queen width, seven foot long bed, and two pipe punks over the gaucho. Mom and dad in the overhead; 80-something grandparents in the dinette (in their younger days, a twin slept two people). Two teen boys in the pipe bunks, teen girl, six year old boy, three year old girl in the gaucho, 11 year old boy on either the gaucho or the floor. We opened up some space sometimes by putting a couple of the boys in the back of the station wagon. We didn't eat or recreate in the RV, all that was outside, trailer was for sleeping.