Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie RVer - need help with tech stuff

g_reyes
Explorer
Explorer
Hey all,

Just stumbled upon this forum a few days ago whilst Googling a few things for my new RV. I'm already learning tons so I'm thrilled I did.
My name is Gabby. I'm a bit of a tech geek but as this is a whole new area for me I need help.
OK first off, I have Clear Internet. I have a wireless modem; the model is The Clear Hub Express. What I'm trying to figure out is could I take this modem with me and have it work in the RV cross country? Clear says that you can take their internet with you but I don't know if I have to change plans and modems to do that.
Secondly, I'm also trying to figure out what satellite or TV service to use. Dish for My RV sounds like my best bet but I also don't know if theres anything else out there. Opinions on Dish? Rants? Suggestions are also welcome.
Also any other tips or tricks for someone completely new to RVing would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!
G. Reyes
Newbie RVer & Road Navigator
5 REPLIES 5

sdianel_-acct_c
Explorer
Explorer
We have Verizon Mi-Fi Jetpack 4G for internet. When we had stick house we used it there and took it with us.

We have DirecTV and had it in stick house and took it with us. Get an extra receiver to leave in the RV. Less trouble. Whatever dish you get, get one simple to operate with a satellite finder. That was the biggest challenge for us. Finding the satellite signal.
Lonny & Diane
2004 Country Coach Allure 33' "Big Blue"
Towing 2008 Chev Colorado 4x4
Semper Fi

Explorer
Explorer
Clear has this page on their website for Mobile Broadband -

http://internet.clear.com/mobile-broadband.html