cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Patio awning question

loneryder
Explorer
Explorer
Yesterday I brought home a 91 Winnebago Chieftain 32' that had been well cared for. Today I was out cleaning and messing with it. I lowered the awning, undoing all the latches the former owner showed me and it sort of fell open. I pulled on one end to extend it and the roller pin on the other end came out of the bracket. Got on the ladder and stuck it back in until it locked. Extended the awning and cleaned it and let it dry. Went to put it up and it wound itself back up and stopped with about 4' of awning left. I was able to get on the ladder and hand wind it all the way forcing it past a couple of stops. Certainly don't want to do this at a campground. So did I do something when the rod end came out of the bracket?? Did a spring unwind or something like that? Awning is a few yrs old.
oh yeah...I'm a graduate of the "we don't need no stinkin instructions" school of thought. I read them afterward.
8 REPLIES 8

Hank_MI
Explorer
Explorer
fyrflie wrote:
As I recall on my A&E Awning each spring has a specific direction to wind it.
One spring goes one way the other goes the opposite way. Once you figure out the direction of each spring, its not really that hard to rewind / tension.
Just be careful when its under tension.
Good Luck.

Both turn the same way, if not they'd be fighting with each other. Direction to turn should be marked on the end cap of the arm.

wannavolunteerF
Explorer
Explorer
I had the spring removed from my carefree and converted to a crank like this... for a short person traveling alone it is much easier to use... even my 23 yr old DS said it was easier than fighting the spring loaded thing..