cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planning a trip to the southwest US and renting an RV

ejacoby
Explorer
Explorer
I'm not sure I'm really a beginner, as we have rented RVs in the past twice. But those trips were a while ago. Plus, this time it's different.

I'd like to take a trip to visit family in New Mexico as well as visit the sites in that area of the US. We have never been there. To drive from New Jersey (where we live) across country is not in the budget, plus the time consideration. So I am considering flying out and renting an RV there. I have several questions regarding this, mostly looking for advice on the most frugal way to do this. Which state is best for rentals in the area? We will be visiting Abiquiu NM and the Grand Canyon for certain. Other than that, nothing is a must do. So the trip could start at one place and end at the other. Or could be a loop. I'm looking for any advice or suggestions. There's 5 of us, my wife and I both mid 50's and three teens. I think a class C would be ok for us.

If someone has experience with renting and driving cross country I'd like to hear from you too. Maybe I'm wrong thinking it is a savings to fly out and rent.

Thanks.

Ed
11 REPLIES 11

Airdaile
Explorer
Explorer
There was a thread last year about a great rental outfit in Utah. Anyone remember the name? Search produced nothing.

ejacoby
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you all so much. I didnt really know if thered be any response. I'm going to look into rv share and price Vegas airfare. That sounds like the best option. Cruise America did seem expensive when I priced the cross country trip. I'll also investigate other rental places out of Vegas to see how they compare to an rvshare.

Again, much thanks for all the responses and input. It really helps.

Ed

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Won’t know until you price out the options and compare.