cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2021 Suburban. How Much Trailer?

TheFifeBand
Explorer
Explorer
I just ordered a 2021 Z71 Suburban with the Max towing package. I don’t have it yet, so I don’t have the details provided on the yellow sticker inside the door. The manufacturer indicates 8,100 lbs as the towing capacity. Total passenger weight is 450 lbs.

I am a complete trailer newbie and do t want to be tricked into buying too big of a trailer by a salesman. I want to know the max weight I can actually tow. Based on manufacturer stats, what should I be looking at? Is 5,000 lbs dry trailer weight my max? Is there a different stat or value I should be looking at? Please help me make a smart decision.
21 REPLIES 21

dugwms
Explorer
Explorer
Not sure if you have considered it at this point but, we found, for us, that a hybrid was the best of both worlds. Lot's of space because the bunks were not in the main living area, very nice amenities and low weight. You have the canvas to deal with but, pound for pound, we loved our hybrid. Towed very well and the bunks for the kids were awesome.

bazar01
Explorer
Explorer
falconbrother wrote:
I'm towing with my old 2000 model Suburban, 7200 weight rated. My trailer is just under 5800 dry. I don't usually have very much in the tanks. It's me, DW and pugs. I added Sumo Supersprings to the rear suspension. It tows just fine. The older 5.3 is a bit sluggish at lower RPMs, which is fine for me. I think if you're towing 5000 with a 2021 Burb with the tow package you'll have no issues at all. Just get the hitch set up right.

My one tip. Don't let the transmission hunt for gears. The 5.3 likes RPMs and the transmission gets hot when it's hunting, like pulling up a mountain. Other than that. The Suburban tows great.

We have had this set up since Jan 2017. We have been up the mountains, back roads, interstates, etc.. It does fine. You'll have no problems with what you're talking about.

+1.