cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do you winterize your Blue Ox tab holes?

Wrong_Lane
Explorer
Explorer
I have a Blue Ox baseplate with the standard round holes in which I insert the removable tabs and twist to lock.

This is my first year with a base plate.

The base plate did not come with any covers to close the holes off when not in use. During the winter season (October to May) I drove my car with the base plate holes open to the elements.

Yesterday when I was hooking up the car for our first trip I found the tab holes full of crap, corrosion from winter road salt, They were unusable. After lots of inappropriate language, spray lube and wire brush activity the tabs were inserted and turned to lock.

So the question is -- what do Blue Ox users do to protect the tab holes in the off season?

I am thinking of maybe a grease soaked cloth left in over winter or something similar but looking for ideas.

Thanks
2006 Damon Challenger 348F Ford V10
2013 Ford Taurus SEL AWD
Blue Ox Aventa & Brake Buddy
14 REPLIES 14

dubdub07
Explorer
Explorer
FC wrote:
Blue Ox sent out replacement plugs to us and other friends. We use them every winter to keep as much crud out as possible. We just sent a request and they sent it off to us.
Jm2cw.

If you ask Blue Ox, they most certainly will deliver! They are a family owned-close knit group and the guys that answer the phones are sitting next to the receptionist who is next to the COO who is right outside the factory floor. Very personable and easy to get things. I asked and they sent 4 caps and 4 rings! And a little note that said "wrap a little electrical tape around the caps so they stay in better".

Very nice people. I am proud to use Blue Ox.

WW
2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
TOADS: 12 Jeep JKUR Wrangler, 16 Cherokee Trailhawk, 15 Grand Cherokee, 13 RAM 1500 Longhorn (not a toad) American STEEL = American profits
RET USAF MSGT (26yrs) and still DoD ATC.
DW,DS,DD in the MH w/Westley the killer PUG!