cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exterior treatment

Spacejunk63
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, we just purchased our 4th camper and are pretty psyched. The dealer is pitching an aftermarket exterior treatment that “protects” the exterior and reduces the need to wax the exterior. Anyone done this? Maxxgard is the brand. Thanks in advance.
12 REPLIES 12

Spacejunk63
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for all the input. I am quite handy, I am a general contractor and am not afraid of repairs. And as this is our forth camper I am pretty familiar with construction techniques. Just was looking for advice as the dealer popped this on us at the last minute. A bit of a surprise, this is camper 3 from the same dealer, this is the first time this was dropped on us.

RedRollingRoadb
Explorer
Explorer
I use Areo Cosmetics https://washwax.com/ and like it. Stuff is pricey but seems to be good. Wash with a quality car wash soap.

As far as extended warranties...The dealer sprang that on us at the last second. I didn't want but SWMBO was insistent on it, I lost. I am of the camp to put the premium in the bank for repairs. I think the reason they wait till the last second is so one doesn't research what a rip-off they are. In the mid 70's I worked for a heating oil/furnace place and the owners didn't hide the fact that they were a money maker.

Haven't used it yet. Hopefully never will happen.

gbopp
Explorer
Explorer
Tell the dealer you are not interested in the 'treatment.'
Then, watch the price of the Maxxgard start to drop.

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
Google "Maxxgard + forum". That should dissuade you. Just can't beat a good wash & wax along with 303 protectant. What could be in Maxxgard that is so superior?? Have they offered an undercoating job, lol? :R