cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Frontal Area

JVFLDF
Explorer
Explorer
I am brand new to RVing, and want to be safe and comfortable.I have a 2018 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab 2wD. Max towing Capacity is 6300lbs Tongue Load 630lbs. Max GCWR 11,250lbs. I found expandables well under these ratings, I figure 1000 lbs under to be safe. The maximum trailer frontal area is 30square feet. Yipes.. Is there a formula to compensate for this frontal area? I couldn't even find a pop-up with a frontal area that small. I had the Frontier set up with a tow package when I purchased it and it has a class 4 hitch. I have read so much about frontal areas that all it has done is lead me to more confusion. Any help (clarification) would be greatly appreciated.
34 REPLIES 34

gmw_photos
Explorer
Explorer
Ford states in their literature:

Frontal area is the total area in
square feet that a
moving vehicle and
trailer exposes to air
resistance. The chart
shows the maximum
trailer frontal area that
must be considered
for a vehicle/trailer
combination. Exceeding
these limitations may
significantly reduce the
performance of your
towing vehicle.

blt2ski
Bobbo wrote:
sgip2000 wrote:
For frontal area, subtract the area blocked by the truck.

Look at the front of the truck when hitched up. The areas of the front of the trailer you can see are the areas that are added up for frontal area.

Put a cap on your truck and the frontal area will decrease.

I would like to see the studies to back up the assertion that you subtract the area blocked by the truck. Please post your sources.

I would like to see this source too! Frontal area has always in my studies, specing of larger commercial trucks etc been the total of the tallest, widest points looking from the front back.

Marty
92 Navistar dump truck, 7.3L 7 sp, 4.33 gears with a Detroit no spin
2014 Chevy 1500 Dual cab 4x4
92 Red-e-haul 12K equipment trailer

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
sgip2000 wrote: