cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Grey water dumping

dhuse
Explorer
Explorer
Years ago (1970s) it was not unlawful to dump grey water in Federal or State campgrounds. It was generally done by lots of campers. Have rules/laws been passed that now prohibits this activity or do RVers still carry on with this practice?
83 REPLIES 83

bukhrn
Explorer III
Explorer III
azdryheat wrote:
So nobody pees in the shower? That alone would render the dumping of gray water as a health hazard.
Nope, only in the pool. :B
2007 Forester 2941DS
2014 Ford Focus
Zamboni, Long Haired Mini Dachshund

dhuse
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you all for the great information. I feel like I'm now an expert in the field with grey water dumping. Pun intended. But I do need to research BLM, Ca State Parks, and NPS.

paulcardoza
Explorer
Explorer
As usual, threads on this topic get wildly out of hand. Nobody is professing to gray water dumping in a campsite where others will be residing right behind you.

Nobody is professing to gray water dumping where it is specifically prohibited.

Simple rules --- If you are in a campground, on a site where others will follow you, don't dump your GW on the ground. If you are in a remote site, boondocking, just be aware of any local laws.

Anyone who claims that dumping gray water in a remote site where no-one else will be anytime soon, is an environmental hazard, has their head in the sand (among other places).
Paul & Sandra
Plymouth, MA
2014 Heartland Cyclone 4100 King

WTP-GC
Explorer
Explorer
bikendan wrote:
no matter what anyone says, gray water from a RV has food particles in it, along with soap. this will attract insects and animals.

And to think, all this time I've been going camping to get away from nature!!!!!!!!!!
Duramax + Grand Design 5er + B & W Companion
SBGTF

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
no matter what anyone says, gray water from a RV has food particles in it, along with soap. this will attract insects and animals.