cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Is .22mag snake shot enough for moccasins?

IDman
Explorer
Explorer
We don't live (or travel) in moccasin country so I have no experience shooting them. HOWEVER...we have to go to Mississippi to clean out a vacant tenant dwelling owned my my mother-in-law so we can list it for sale. The property is 15 acres with house, barns, sheds, pool and pool equipment bldg. plus a couple of greenhouses. It has been neglected for a couple of years and we have now evicted the tenant.

We have been told by others living in the area that there is trash, debris, etc. all over the property so we know we will encounter snakes and other varmints.

I have been searching for .38/.357 snake shot but cannot find any! I can find 9mm but I don't trust the plastic shells to load properly. I can find lots of .22 mag at Bass Pro so may have to settle for it as it will be in a revolver.

Is .22 mag enough for Mississippi moccasin, copperheads, and rattlers?

Thanks!
61 REPLIES 61

Laman
Explorer
Explorer
I get a kick out of people who quote only death statistic's when championing the "leave them alone they do more good then harm" mantra. Yes thankfully not many people die from snakebites but there are hundreds that suffer painful bites and many times permanent after effects and I happen to know 3 such individuals. I am sorry but if it's a poisonous snake in an area that I or other people will frequent he is going to be dispatched. On my hunting lease in Ga. we will have taken out probably five eastern diamondbacks a year for over 20 years, we still have plenty. Habitat destruction by develoment is more of a danger to snake poplutation than individuals taking them out when encountered
1998 American Eagle 40' EVS, 2011 Ford Edge, Falcon 2 tow bar
DW and 2 DD's

down_home
Explorer
Explorer
Redsky wrote: