Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Vehicle for Towing

AlandleeAdventu
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,
This is my first time posting though I have sought your expertise many times via google searches. We have a 1985 Jayco J-Series 1008SG Pop-up that we aren’t currently able to tow (it was handed down to us, and our towing vehicle was totaled in snow and ice over the winter). We have a small car and a van, but our Honda Odyssey is 16 years old and already on a second transmission. We are in the market for a used vehicle that can safely tow our pop-up through the mountains AND fit two adults and two small children in car seats. We live in Western PA so we have to scale some serious hills to go anywhere. The Jayco says it’s only 1000 lbs, but when I research towing options it seems like even those with towing capacities of 3500 may not handle the load well on hills, especially since the trailer doesn’t have brakes. I (mom) will sometimes need to tow without my husband along so I want to feel really safe while towing.
What can you recommend that is best for hauling this trailer and our two small children?
Thank you!
11 REPLIES 11

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
So balance between soccer mobile and towing a popup.
Most 6cyl midsize SUV’s or minivans are the ticket. Depends whether you want to be seen in what your driving or not, lol.
4 Runner and Jeep GC are probably the only 2 traditional 4x4s with low range.
6 cyl 8 speed Jeep GCs are cheap, comparatively, and get decent mileage. Rented one, low 20s mpg. Plenty of giddy up and heavy stable chassis.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

APT
Explorer
Explorer
Anything you like with about 3500 pound tow rating should be good for a popup. I also recommend something with a turbocharged engine which will keep engine speed low and comfortable, especially for any mountains you may drive to.