cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newbie question re towing a Jeep Commander

FredandMicheleE
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, my wife and I are brand new to truck camping but have decided to jump on in. We have a 2007 F-250 Lariat 4WD 6.0 Diesel that has a factory installed heavy duty towing package that will be carrying a 2011 Travel Lite 875 pop up. I have seen several threads about towing a vehicle and am confused about the best and safest way to do it. Some have mentioned a dolly and others mentioned something called 'free towing.' Can anyone give me any advice on the best options for pulling my Jeep? I'm a complete newbie at this so don't think you are talking down to me...I'll welcome any and all advice.

Fred

Moved to Dinghy Towing forum from Towing.

8 REPLIES 8

BigInIssaquah
Explorer
Explorer
Just as an FYI, I just had my 2008 Commander weighed at a transfer station and it would have been right at 4800# without me in it so you should be good on weight if you are worried about going over 5000#. But, mine is a sport model without the rear seats but I think you would be right at the limit, if your limit is 5000# on your RV

Heisenberg
Explorer
Explorer
Demco tow equipment is high quality.
2013 Winnebago Sightseer
2017 Colorado

dkf435
Explorer
Explorer
Make sure your Commander is one of the ones that has a transfer case that will shift to neutral, 2 out of three do. Also a lot of people are having problems going into neutral after having the N23 recall done and need to have the trouble codes cleared from the computer before it will.

David

path1
Explorer
Explorer
Fill in your info into the blanks. After that be sure to read notes at top of page. Might help you, not sure exactly what your looking for. http://www.remcoindustries.com/Towing/Store.php
2003 Majestic 23P... Northwest travel machine
2013 Arctic Fox 25W... Wife "doll house" for longer snowbird trips
2001 "The Mighty Dodge"... tow vehicle for "doll house"

FredandMicheleE