cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Pay Sales Tax In Two States?

Makin__Do
Explorer
Explorer
I'll try and make this short. I live in West Virginia and want to buy a used RV from a private party in Florida. If I want an "in-transit" tag from Florida to drive the RV back to WV, I have to pay FL 6% tax, equal to the WV tax, to get that tag. When I title the RV in WV I would have to pay the 6% tax again because WV will not give me credit for paying the tax in FL. 12% is more than I want to pay.
So, the question is, can I pay the owner for the RV and have them sign the title over to me and just get out of state and skip the tag?
BTW, the owner is willing to leave their FL plate and insurance on the RV until I get back to WV.
79 REPLIES 79

rockhillmanor
Explorer
Explorer
DownTheAvenue wrote:
I am an attorney, .....And thirdly, just drive your vehicle and the trailer home with the seller's Florida license plate. NO one will question the Florida license plate, and it is not probable cause for an officer to stop you. Unless you have an accident and the police question the different state license plates ...

Glad you are not my attorney.

I live in Florida and it would be a cold day in hell that I would ever let anyone pull away with an RV I just sold with my plates still on it.

And telling a client that is legal 'unless' you get in an accident??? :R

We must be willing to get rid of the life we've planned,
so as to have the life that is waiting for us.

Makin__Do
Explorer
Explorer
OP here. I'm picking up a class c, should have said that in the first post. Sorry for the confusion. Again, thanks for all the replies.

DownTheAvenue
Explorer
Explorer
spoon059 wrote:
WTP-GC wrote:
Have the owner sign over the title, issue a bill of sale, remove their tag and drive away. If you get pulled over for not having a tag, provide the LEO with insurance proof, bill of sale and title. You'll be well on your way as long as there's nothing else funky.