cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Unicorn of towbars

SethRVTech
Explorer
Explorer
hello first let me start by saying I am a Master Certified RV technician I install base plates wire kits and towbars for living I would like everyones help in identifying a brand of towbar it is shaped like an X not like the traditional V. I have only seen one of these towbars before. I talked to the owner and he said they do not make them anymore he also said that he was able to back up with this type of towbar and he would not trade it for any other towbar I have looked on the net but have been unable to find anything on them I know they do exist I've seen them with my own eyes and it was not something that a customer built thank you for your help
11 REPLIES 11

RJsfishin
Explorer
Explorer
If the castor is w/in certain limits, any towbar will back a toad around a corner. Don't need no special X bar to do that.
What a bunch of BS. Plain to see why the guy went broke. And plain to see why there is no such thing being made, and probably never was.
And yes, back in the 60s, some vehicles would not steer on a towbar. We just tied the steering in the center position, and it worked great. A little tire scrubbing in the corners, but it never showed on tread wear.
And even now, if you tie/lock the steering wheel in center, you can back up any toad forever.
Rich

'01 31' Rexall Vision, Generac 5.5k, 1000 watt Honda, PD 9245 conv, 300 watts Solar, 150 watt inv, 2 Cos 6v batts, ammeters, led voltmeters all over the place, KD/sat, 2 Oly Cat heaters w/ ox, and towing a 2012 Liberty, Lowe bass boat, or a Kawi Mule.

dons2346
Explorer
Explorer
"the toe and castor on the toad had to be within certain limits and it enabled you to back up around a 90 degree corner."

I was the one that made this statement, not the OP. And yes, this is what the inventor of the bar told me at a FMCA convention.