cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Towing In Snow Who's Done It?

1L243
Explorer II
Explorer II
Towing a travel trailer 10k in snow when snow chains are required, who's done it?

I have a 2WD truck and may have to take a trip to Idaho. I could run into snow on some of the passes.

Good thing I checked and test fit my snow chains that I have been carrying in my truck for the last 14 years and never used, they did not fit. So, I picked up a new set today. LT duty cam locks.

I test fit them they fit fine.

What about tire pressure when towing 10K and running snow chains. I run max tire pressure in the rear tires 80psi when towing. Does air pressure change when running snow chains?

Max speed, what is recommended?

Do you chain the trailer axle? One or both?
2017 Coleman 300tq by Dutchman Toy Hauler. 34.5 feet long and under 10k Gross. 500 watt Solar 2000 watt Inverter, 1999 Ford F250 2WD 7.3 4R100 DP Tuner, S&B Cold Air Intake, Gauges, 6.0 Trans Cooler, Air Bags.
46 REPLIES 46

1L243
Explorer II
Explorer II
This is the Pass east of Pendleton I 84 this morning on Tripcheck. Best time for weather for me is the 12th. I'm not taking my trailer over that now just want to get my truck over it. Going to get in and get out of Boise before the next snow even on Fri/Sat
2017 Coleman 300tq by Dutchman Toy Hauler. 34.5 feet long and under 10k Gross. 500 watt Solar 2000 watt Inverter, 1999 Ford F250 2WD 7.3 4R100 DP Tuner, S&B Cold Air Intake, Gauges, 6.0 Trans Cooler, Air Bags.

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
1L243 wrote:
Thanks for all the advise. I need to make the trip around the 15th with a day or two of flexibility either way depending on the weather.

At this point I have decided to leave the Toy Hauler on the Pendleton side of the pass at a RV park and then return to it when I finish my business in Boise.