cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

toyota 4runner towing needs

joelvis
Explorer
Explorer
Buying a Class A. Can my 4runner be towed? New to forum!!!!
15 REPLIES 15

Tdkeilman
Explorer
Explorer
I tow a 1994 Toyota 4WD pickup, manual transmission, 4 down. It's the Tacoma size, but the use of "Tacoma" did not start until maybe a year later. The owner's manual says no, and says no to dolly towing as well. I have contacted service departments at two dealerships and they told me I can, as long as all 4 wheels are on the ground, and I do NOT put the transfer case in neutral, but leave it in 2WD high. Just put the tranny in neutral, leave the key on so the streering wheel does not lock. I have been doing that for several years, about 8,000 miles and no issues. They did tell me not to use a dolly, as the front wheels have to be turning to keep things properly lubed.

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
cudntherd wrote:
If your 4Runner is rear wheel (2 wheel drive)with an automatic. It can be towed using a drive shaft disconnect. I have towed a 2001 SR5 with a disconnect for about 10 thousand miles and no problems.

I had a disconnect on my S10 pickup, hated it. wouldn't recommend one but since the OP already has the toad, might have to deal with one.
bumpy

lanerd
Explorer II
Explorer II
2lazy4U wrote:
Could you tow it on a dolly?

Only if it was front wheel drive...which it isn't! On a dolly, the drive wheels (rear) would still be on the ground. Of course, if it is 2wd (do they even make them?), I guess you could put it on the dolly backwards! :E

Ron
Ron & Sandie
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH Cummins ISL 400hp
Toad: 2011 GMC Terrain SLT2
Tow Bar: Sterling AT
Toad Brakes: Unified by U.S. Gear
TPMS: Pressure Pro
Member of: GS, FMCA, Allegro

RETIRED!! How sweet it is....

cudntherd
Explorer
Explorer