cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Understanding what I can tow

MetalGator
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have been towing a TT for the last 3 years and have a good understanding about GVWR, tongue weight and other weights that go along with towing a trailer. I am planning on a class A in the future and want to make sure I understand the basics of dinghy towing.

Most of the Class A motor homes I have looked at have a tow rating of 5000lbs with 500lbs tongue weight. The wife wants to purchase a Jeep Wrangler unlimited. In looking at the weight of the jeep, they can range anywhere from 4100lbs-4500lbs according to the options. I am going to use 4500 in my calculations.

Many of the Class A's have a GVWR of 22,000lbs and a GCWR of 26,000lbs. So if my motor home is loaded to the max (22,000lbs), my limitation for towing is the GCWR-GVWR = 4000lbs. In this case I would be 500lbs overweight even though I am under the 5000lb tow rating.

If my motor home is not loaded to the max and only weights in at 20,000lbs, then the limitation is the tow rating of 5000lbs since my actual weight is 20,000 and the GCWR is 26000 which leaves me with 6000lbs until I hit my GCWR.

When I first starting looking at Class A's, I would see the 22,000 GVWR and the 26,000lb GCWR and assume 4000lbs towing max but if my understanding is correct, that is only the case if you are loaded to the max. I find it interesting that many manufactures don't list the dry weights of their motor homes. I guess it's probably because they can be optioned so many different ways that the actual dry weights would be all over the place.

Is my thinking sound? I want to make sure I understand all the limitations before I drop the big bucks on the RV and the toad.

Burch
2018 Miramar 35.3 Motorhome
3 fur kids (Monty, ZuZu and Pinto)
Rainbow bridge (Murphy, Petie, Lola)
10 REPLIES 10

mowermech
Explorer
Explorer
OR, you can just do what I have done (if you wish).