cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Wheel chair lift or similar

chucketn
Explorer
Explorer
My children and grandchildren live approximately 2000mi from me, amd my siblings and most cousins 1000 mi in a different direction. We want to be able to visit more often.
I am slightly disabled with heart problems, and my wife can only walk a few feet due to back problems. She mostly uses a wheel chair.
We are looking at getting a small Class C or a class B to make traveling easier, as it is difficult to get her in and out of motels and restaurants.
I would like to hear from others with the same/similar issues.
I am a veteran and often go to the local VA Medical Center. There I see many pov's with hitch receiver mounted carriers for mobility scooters. Are they easy for an old dude with a bad heart to load and unload? Are wheel chair lifts capable of handling a mobility scooter?

Chuck
4 REPLIES 4

Dtank
Explorer
Explorer
Lifts - of all types: Google "Burr Lift".
The Burr lifts (and others) lift a person from the ground to the height of the RV - normally attached to the side of the RV by the steps.

Lifts for a handicapped scooters (etc.) you have seen... there are many options (12V operated), so no physical lifting req'd.

The Newmar MH mentioned by a poster is expensive! If you can afford it, it's specifically designed for wheelchair use. (IIRC) there is at least one other mfgr of same.

If you want an *inexpensive* travel trailer - look at toy haulers - which have a ramp. At least one mfgr has a side (rather than rear) ramp.

Horsedoc
Explorer II
Explorer II