cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Who all tows a Mini Cooper, all 4 down?

stevekk
Explorer
Explorer
I have a chance to buy a used 2006 with a 6 speed/ TURBO/ 47000 miles.
But when I research the present and past towing guides from Motorhome Magazine, I question whether they can be towed all 4 wheels down?

I just talked to someone that has a 2005/ 5 speed and has towed it 60,000 miles w/ no problem.
He justs puts the key in the ignition, so the steering wheel free wheels and tows.

So...Can I, or can't I?
Or.. The good or the bad?
Why don't they say you can tow?
Does it have to do with lubrication to the trans-axle?
Whats the negative over the long haul?
THANKS..
I am new to all this..:h
6 REPLIES 6

AprilWhine
Explorer
Explorer
You should have no problems.

But, if it's an 06, it's supercharged, not turbocharged. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Also, the 06 still has a locking steering column so you'll have to leave a key in the ignition.
1997 Prevost by Angola towing 2014 Honda CRV
OR
2008 Winnebago View towing 2015 Fiat 1957 Anniversary Edition
Pick one

rickcarlene
Explorer
Explorer
We started towing a 2008 clubman S 6 speed last season with a roadmaster base plt towed 2500 miles last season so far so good.

Jagtech
Explorer
Explorer
I helped a friend install the baseplate on his Mini Cooper S; he's towed it for several years with no issues.
1998 Triple E F53
1995 Jeep Wrangler toad

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
what does the vehicle owner's manual say. that would be my first cut, before motorhome magazine. since they evidently say No, do you feel lucky?

bumpy

Robert78121
Explorer
Explorer