cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Higher Absorption Voltage, Less Top Charging

BFL13
Explorer II
Explorer II
Mex has mentioned this a few times. I have some real life experience of that now I have the right equipment to see it. This would relate to the battery blurb advice on doing overcharges every so often above 15v.

First, on solar daily for months, I expected to have to do an equalize every month or so, because the 6v batts only got to 14.8 for a time at the end of the day and did not always get to full. However, when they did get some time in the day at 14.8 and the AH counter said they were full, their SG was up to "baseline SG". This was a big surprise to me. However they also were doing shallow cycles not getting down to 50% each time.

Second, after off- grid no solar doing 50-90s, I would get home with low batteries to do the last recharge from the camping cycles, plug in, and let the 13.8v converter bring them up by next day.

But their SG was still "fair". At that point I put the VEC1093DBD on them which first got them to "full" at 14.8v, but the SG was only "good" but not up to "baseline SG" (my target SG I have seen when they are "truly full" ) So next I ran the Equalize on the VEC which got the SG right up where it belongs. Been doing that for some years now.

OK, so what's new? I recently replaced the old 13.8v converter with an adjustable voltage (PowerMax as it happens, but any charger that can do this would work) and used it for the first time to do the home recharge on return from some 50-90s.

Batts were down 190 AH about 55% SOC. I set the voltage to 14.8 and plugged in. By 10PM (same day not next day as before) was down 6 AH so I lowered the voltage to 13.6 and left it overnight. So this morning it is up 1.7 AH and the SG is back up to "baseline SG"!!! So I don't need to haul out the VEC and do an overcharge. Amazing ๐Ÿ™‚