cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Nine year old RV Fire Extinguisher Still Serviceable

Harvard
Explorer
Explorer
We happened upon a highway scene where a 1/2 ton was disabled because of a front wheel bearing failure. The hydraulic fluid was on fire and the driver was trying to douse the flames with bottles of drinking water.

I offered up our 9 year old RV dry extinguisher and it worked perfectly. It did have a pressure gauge and it was in the green, that was all I knew for sure.

The only other surprise is how little time and content is available. It only lasts for about 10 seconds and there is no second chance.
10 REPLIES 10

bka0721
Explorer II
Explorer II
The photos did not show my rig. I am a photographer and grabbed these after I pulled the guy out of the truck, as he was still trying to get things out of it, right as some propane tanks started going off. It happened too fast to do anything. The fire started in the engine compartment of his truck and then spread to his 5th Wheel. I sold the photographs to a newspaper syndicate, these are some of them.

If the owner of the rig had Fire Extinguishers available, at the truck, he could have put out the fire before it spread. Ironically he was a retired Fireman from my home state. So it can happen to anyone or some know more than the rest of us.

b
08 F550-4X4-CC-6.4L Dsl-206"WB GVWR17,950#
09 Lance 1191
1,560wSolar~10-6vGC2-1,160AmpH~Tri-Star-Two(2)60/MPPT~Xantrex 2000W
300wSolar~2-6vAGM-300AmpH~Tri-Star45/MPPT~Xantrex 1500W
16 BMW R1200GSW Adventure
16 KTM 500 EXC
06 Honda CRF450X
09 Haulmark Trlr

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have 4 fire extinguishers in my RV. 2 foam 2 powder one is the little one Damon put in the other is a 25 pounder.