cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Norcold 1210 doubledoor not cooling.

CJW8
Explorer
Explorer
New RV. I've been using it for a couple of months and all has been well even when ambient temps were into the 100's. It is installed in a slide.

I woke up this AM and opened the fridge door to get something and noticed it wasn't as cold as it should be. I checked the freezer and things were thawing. I was running it on electric and it has been freezing outside at night and 50's F in the day. I put a digital temp gauge in the freezer and after an hour it read 38F. Ice cubes were mushy and there was 1/4 to 1/2" ice on the back wall.

I defrosted it and dried it out. I switched it to gas. In 8 hours it is only down to 37.3 and holding.

I read that absorption (sp) refers were less efficient at freezing ambient temperatures so I blocked off the lower vents and mounted a 60 watt bulb in the back compartment. After a couple of hours running this was it is still at 37.3 in the freezer.

I am running it on 9 which is the coldest setting. Any ideas?
2003 Forest River Sierra M-37SP Toy Hauler- Traded in
2015 Keystone Raptor 332TS 5th wheel toy Hauler (sold)
2004 Winnebago Vectra. 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
19 REPLIES 19

fourthclassC
Explorer
Explorer
I had a situation with a happy ending - so far. Norcold quit on Fl trip. Older unit-no warrentee. Successfully re-set control board and its been working great ever since. But I would like to upgrade to an improved control board like I did on my old dometic. Does RV mobile still exist? If not does any one know if those type of improved boards are still available. Would rather replace with one of them than a standard Norcold replacement.

Thank you

CJW8
Explorer
Explorer
UPDATE: