cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Refrigerator Repair/Replacement

Grey_Mountain
Explorer
Explorer
Looks like our fridge is belly up. Getting a code "cooling unit" problem.
Taking it in for repairs next week.
A replacement runs from $3000/$4000. If just the cooling unit is bad, replacement is around $1200 or so.
If I have to replace the entire thing, I am considering going back with a residential refrigerator of the same size. What are the pros and cons of this? Of course, I would have nor refrigertor unless on shore power or genertor.

GM
2006 Discovery 39S Tin Teepee
Honda CR-V Toad
Enrolled member of the Comanche Tribe
English Bride
Bichon Frise bear killers:
Lord Shonefeld von Reginald-Friese IV.
Lady Annabelle von Lichenstein-Friese III.
39 REPLIES 39

Jim
Explorer
Explorer
I am very happy I'd already finished my root beer float when I read this one:

When it comes to mechanical and electrical things, I am a really good carpenter.

GM

Otherwise it would be all over my keyboard.
Jim@HiTek
Have shop, will travel!
Visit my travel & RV repair blog site. Subscribe for emailed updates.
Winnebago Journey, '02
Cat 330HP Diesel, 36.5', two slides.

Grey_Mountain
Explorer
Explorer
C.B. wrote:
I have a working Dometic french door that came out of my Cedar Creek.

If interested PM me.

C.B.

Good idea, escept you are 1032.1 miles north/northeast of me. ๐Ÿ™‚
Honda CR-V Toad
English Bride

Grey_Mountain
Explorer
Explorer
dougrainer wrote:
Grey Mountain wrote:
"Belly up" means no workee. On the fritz. Kaput. Cooling unit has stopped cooling.

This is a NORCOLD 1200L RIMD in a 2006 Fleetwood Discovery.
Error code as mentioned above is

no co

in small letters.
Owners manual says this means "cooling unit has stopped cooling."

There is a reset procedure, which I tried, to no avail. Manual says if one reset does not work, a second reset is not possible.

GM

1. The reset IS possible and can be done. By someone that knows how to do it