cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1/2 ton or 3/4 ton?

bryoderwls
Explorer
Explorer
I am towing a 27' Rockwood Ultralight, weight is under 7,000. I was told by a Ford dealer, that wanted to sell a vehicle apparently, that the 2007 Expedition would do just fine. I'm a novice and took his advice. Many of you will realize it was horrible advice. After 4 years of asking camper people, mechanics and just the general public to try to figure out why it felt like I was "floating down the road" above 50 mph, all of a sudden it seems like everybody I ask now says "the air suspension system is terrible for pulling. It will make it feel like you're floating." Now I'm looking for a different truck.

We are weekend/local campers with about a 400-500 mile max traveling. The Chevy is my preference, but since we mostly use the vehicle for every day driving, the 2500 is a gas guzzler. It also is too big to fit in my garage! I would like to look at the 1500, but want some advice about it. We live in Ohio, so not tremendously large hills.
30 REPLIES 30

mbutts
Explorer
Explorer
When I upgraded from a 4,200 lbs. trailer to a 7,300 lbs. trailer, I was firmly in the white knuckle range for my 2004 Expedition. Still technically within the truck's specified limits, but too dangerous to drive.

I considered the F150, HD payload, but the $38,000 price tag made me look for a used truck. Buying my $26,000 diesel F350 was one of my better decisions. Tows like a dream, gets decent around town mileage, and I'm covered for any potential TT upgrades.
Mike Butts
DW+DD+DS+Poodles
2017 Forest River Forester 3011DS (first MH!)
Previously 1999 Coleman Santa Fe pop-up, 2007 Kodiak 23SS hybrid, 2013 Sunset Trail 29SS travel trailer

RoyB
Explorer II
Explorer II
I too went down that that road where I was told you can pull this baby with F150 truck with ease.