Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

2015 Ram 1500 towing?

phishheadmi
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all,

Well, here I am again, at the end of a truck lease cycle. I've been leasing trucks every 2 or 3 years for the last 20+ years...it works for me.

My current truck is a 2013 Ram 1500 Bighorn (the first generation 2013...before the 8 speed trans). Before that, I had a 2010 Toyota Tundra...LOVED the tundra, but at $100/month more than the Ram, I didn't love it that much. Before the Tundra were a couple other Ram leases (in Detroit area, they lease out really well). I feel like the Toyota towed much better than the Ram (towing a 26' TT loaded up to around 8,000 LBS).

My question is about the new Ram truck...I've found a pretty good deal, but even the dealer is telling me they reduced the towing a payload a bit when they switched over to the new style and 8 speed trans in 2013.

Who's towing with a late model 2013 to 2016 Ram truck? What are you towing? How do you find it compares to other trucks you've owned/used? Any other suggestions? I have a buddy who swears by his Ford eco boost V6...says it tows better than his old F150 V8...he's towing more than I am, but I don't think he's as aware of how/what he's towing.

Anyone have a new model Ram and had the older model and can compare the two? I'd love to jump up to a 2500, but they don't have any lease deals on those at all so they wind up being double the lease rate!
30 REPLIES 30

RoyJ
Explorer
Explorer
Heck, found my old post, here're the numbers:

Originally Posted by RoyJ View Post
With the 8 speed, the ratios are so tight if you were to drop a gear in the 3.21 truck, you're almost bang on with the 3.92 truck in a higher gear. Let's take 60 mph as an example:

3.21: 3rd (4118rpm) 4th (3275) 5th (2530) 6th (1961) 7th (1647) 8th (1314)

3.92: 3rd (5029rpm) 4th (3999) 5th (3089) 6th (2395) 7th (2012) 8th (1604)

With a big trailer 8th is out of the question for either truck.