cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best sized rv for GMC Sierra 1500 gas w/5.3 Litre engine

kdeerman
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RV'ing, and looking to purchase a used rv to pull with my GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab 4WD gas burner w/5.3 Litre engine. I have two daughters, age 11 & 12, so it will be for a family of 4. I've never owned a cawper or RV, so just looking for any advice to help me make the right decisions. Probably only short trips, 600 miles or less, but not necessarily traveling that far in just one day.
Thanks
34 REPLIES 34

kdeerman
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone.

DE88ROX
Explorer
Explorer
Understanding Gross Vehicle Weight Rating

Knowing and understanding GVWR is important to towing because it tells you explicitly the maximum weight of passengers and cargo you can safely carry in your truck or SUV. GVWR is the total combined weight of truck, including all passengers, fuel, fluids and cargo. GVWR is constant and does not change, regardless of what you tow. It’s engineered in when the vehicle is manufactured.

Because tongue weight must be included in the GVWR, you will need to know how much weight capacity you need to have “left over” for when you hook up your trailer.

For example, if you have a 5,000-pound truck with a 6,200 pound GVWR, you can safely carry 1,200 pounds in the vehicle. If you are towing a trailer with a 300-pound tongue weight, the amount of passengers and gear you can carry decreases to 900 pounds. Simple, right?

To be sure you choose the right tow vehicle, you must find the vehicle with a tow rating high enough to meet your needs. It’s usually a good idea to get a bit more capacity than what your currents needs are. But at the very least, be certain the towed load and tongue weight are within your vehicle’s capacity.
[COLOR=]TV- 2010 GMC Sierra Z71 EXT. cab
TT- 2012 Starcraft Autumn Ridge235fb

wmoses
Explorer
Explorer