cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Bigfoot 2500 series on a short box

811Q
Explorer
Explorer
I would like to know if anyone has issues with installing the Bigfoot 2500 series 9.4 or 9.6 on a short box (2500 or 3500)p/u
20 REPLIES 20

RamblinAnne
Explorer
Explorer
Agreed with the person above me. I am a novice on this issue but when doing my research, before buying both components to my TC rig, I concluded the same thing. It's not about CVWR.. it's about the Center of Gravity. Even if the truck can handle the weight, it's going to throw it off it's not properly centered/evenly distributed.

If you already have the truck, don't mess around.. get a short box camper. If you already have the camper, get the right truck.

And don't assume everyone is overloaded. That's dangerous no matter what you do to upgrade suspension, etc... Nothing you do will up the CVWR. Those mods just help with the feel of the drive and how the camper sits on the truck. Good luck! Bigfoots are the best!
2013 Ford F350 6.7L Powerstroke Diesel DRW Lariat Crew Cab 4x4
2004 Bigfoot 25c10.6e
Full-timer

adamis
Nomad II
Nomad II
Unless I missed it, it seems like the most obvious and most concerning issue at hand hasn't even been addressed... Center of Gravity! The weight concern could potentially be addressed through modifications but you can't change the center of gravity on a camper very easily. On my F350 Dually long bed the center of gravity of my Bigfoot 2500 25C106E is nearly centered over the rear axles. On a short bed your center of gravity marker is going to be behind the rear axle which isn't safe as your unloading your front wheels.

1999 F350 Dually with 7.3 Diesel
2000 Bigfoot 10.6 Camper

mylundboat
Explorer
Explorer