cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bike Rack On Ultralite Rear Bumper

Arn
Explorer
Explorer
I constantly read posts warning against mounting a bike rack on the rear bumper. People say they've seen bumpers & bike racks laying on the side of the road. People say they've seen bikes dragging down the road because the bumper twisted. I've been a driver/passenger for over 56 years & I have never seen these things. I have camped for over 40 years and over 10 of those years I've towed an ultralite. I constantly see bike racks on the back of ultralites & I constantly talk to the owners who constantly say they've never had or seen a problem. I know, someone is going to say "Go ahead & try it bright boy & I'll be the first to laugh when you post that you lost your bikes". Well I'm going to try it. A 4" square bumper welded to a solid steel frame should be able to take the torque & bouncing of 80lbs of bikes. I have also talked to numerous dealers who say they have never had a customer say his bumper came off because of a bike rack. From this day forward I will no longer listen to the fear mongers of the world, & if you see a bumper with 2 bikes attached I sure hope they're not mine.
Arn

1958 Me
1963 Her
2015 Jayco Jay Flight 33RLDS
2020 Silverado LTZ Crew, 5.3 Max Trailering Pkg.
29 REPLIES 29

Francesca_Knowl
Explorer
Explorer
" Not every mind that wanders is lost. " With apologies to J.R.R. Tolkien

Explorer II
Explorer II
I have never seen bumpers or bikes on the roadway but I have come across trailers going down the road missing a bumper with the tale tell sign on the frame as depicted in the above photo.

I didn't have to see it happen to know what happened.

You can't escape physics.
2011 Ford F-150 EcoBoost SuperCab Max Tow, 2084# Payload, 11,300# Tow,
Timbrens
2013 KZ Durango 2857

modern_family
Explorer
Explorer