cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying used hybrid

tessi81
Explorer
Explorer
I am totally new to the RV world and we are looking at purchasing our first hybrid travel trailer. Looking at buying a used 18-20ft hybrid. Have been looking at some older 2005-2007 model and some newer ones 2012/2013. Since the older ones are more our price range we are tending towards them but wondering how do the older ones hold up? Will we experience a lot of problems with the tents/canvas -mold, leakage??
10 REPLIES 10

bconrey
Explorer
Explorer
We just upgraded from a pop-up to a used hybrid - used 2003 Starcraft Antigua. We found one on a dealer's lot that they were interested in moving for a good price.

Bunk ends were solid, floors were solid, minimal evidence of water damage. Found water damage in the shower (not terribly surprising), had the salesman pull a ladder out so I could take a look. The dicor was not well-maintained, was ugly and in need of repair around the skylight and vent, but the roof seemed solid.

Fast forward a couple weeks and I've refurbed both the skylight and the vent. Based on how the original dicor was applied (screw heads weren't fully covered), I'm chalking it up to a manufacturing/assembly defect. Everything is water-tight now.

While working on the roof I noticed a huge gap in the dicor at the front of the roof. I've since caught up on the neglected roof maintenance and a recent rainstorm has confirmed this.

All that to say, be sure to check the roof!

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
RobWNY wrote:
Every one of them said the same thing. They loved them except they had problems with condensation building up on the inside of the canvas. Hot days and cool nights caused all of their bedding to get wet.

Obviously, they did nothing to find out how to solve this.
with a little research, they could have solved it by allowing for air movement and using Popup Gizmos/solar blankets.