cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Equal-i-zer lubrication

RonRN18
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to owning a trailer and I have an Equal-i-zer weight distribution hitch. I see they say to only use their brand of lubricant on the hitch. I can not find ANY store locally that has even heard of their brand of lubricant. I've heard different answers as to what else I can use. I've heard white lithium grease and I've heard DRY silicone spray. My gut tells me that white lithium grease would be good. On my first outing, I didn't have any lubricant and it was VERY loud. I ordered some Equal-i-zer brand lubricant which arrives while I'm out on my next trip. Anyone else out there have an Equal-i-zer WDS hitch? What do you use?
2016 Ford F150 XLT SuperCrew FX4 with 5.0L V8
2019 Mesa Ridge 2410RL travel trailer
35 REPLIES 35

Huntindog
Explorer
Explorer
librty02 wrote:
Huntindog wrote:
librty02 wrote:
SoundGuy wrote:
Hondavalk wrote:
Looks like a Bingo to me. From the manual:
"In some cases the friction on the L-brackets can generate noise. Lubricating this joint is not recommended."

L bracket sway jackets are the company's response to excessive noise, particularly during low speed turns, and as such acts as a "lubricant". The point is rather moot anyway as the company itself says on it's own website -

"Use of the Sway Bracket Jackets does slightly reduce the amount of friction sway control provided by the L-bracket assemblies. However, this reduction is minimal, and in most applications barely noticeable because the majority of the Original Equalizer Hitchโ€™s integrated sway control comes from the rotational friction surfaces of the spring arm sockets in the hitch head. This sway control is not affected at all by the use of the Sway Bracket Jackets. The L-brackets will still provide a certain measure of sway dampening friction."