cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gmc 1/2 Ton Yukon 4x4 & Nash 17k

SamCol
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here. I have a 07 Gmc Yukon SLT 4x4 V8 3.73 Tow Package/Tow Haul. Payload 1523# Hitch wt. 1000# with WDH. Tow Rating 7200#. FRT Axel 3600# Rear Axel 4100#. I am looking at the Nash 17k. Dry wt. approx. 3537# factory rep said about 4500# with good amount of options. Cargo capacity 2963#. GVWR 7000# Length 22' 4" approx. with hitch. It will be just me most of the time. Lot's of mountain and desert driving. . I can not imagine I would load this unit to the max. If it is 4500# dry plus 1000# cargo at 13% I'm at 715 hitch wt. That leaves me 808# for myself,fuel,wdh,misc.I know this is doable, but I don't want the white knuckle, wish I had not done this experience. Should I buy a good 1/2 ton truck? Not interested in 3/4 or 1 ton. Any advice appreciated.:?
12 REPLIES 12

Ctimrun
Explorer
Explorer
If you do end up looking at 1/2 ton trucks be sure to pay very close attention to the actual payload rating numbers on the yellow sticker on each specific truck, and not brochure weights. Many half tons have pretty low payload numbers. We had a 15 F150 (with tow package) that had 1216 pounds posted on the yellow sticker which in my opinion is very weak for any "tow vehicle".

SamCol
Explorer
Explorer
Huckleberry, Tks for the info.I do not plan on anything over 17-22'for my needs. Fact is if I don't buy the tt I will buy a FWC Hawk Truck Camper. The only truck on my list now is the Toyota Tundra DBL 4x4 5.7. 10 1/2" ring gear and 4.30 rear axel ratio. Good to know about the uphill with the 3.73 as I do a lot of mountain driving.

HuckleberryHunt
Explorer
Explorer
Like others mentioned, your Yukon will handle that trailer. The downside will probably be that it may be a lite squirrelly due to the short wheelbase and you will probably not have much power going up any steep or long inclines.