Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Help Needed to pair new Tahoe w/ TT

DANSKIR
Explorer
Explorer
Hey Guys,
I'm a newbie here. Looking to purchase a TT and TV really soon. Given all the towing horror stories going around, I'm very apprehensive about subjecting my wife and 2 small kids to anything that might be dangerous. Of course, the dealerships and reps are all telling me I'm completely in the clear. I've read through countless posts trying to confirm this is a safe pairing but can't find anything completely on point. I could really use some expert advice on whether this pairing is a bad idea before I pull the trigger.

I'm looking to buy a 2017 Chevy Tahoe w/ Max Trailering package that comes with INTEGRATED TRAILER BRAKE CONTROLLER.

Here are the Chevy Tahoe specs:
engine: 5.3L EcoTec3 V8
wheelbase: 116in
Towing capacity: 8,600 lbs.
length: 204in
rear axle ratio: 3.42
Gross Combined Weight Rating: 14,000 lbs.
Rear Axle Rating: 4300 lbs.
Actual unloaded weight (only driver and gas): 3408 lbs.
Dry Weight: 5356 lbs.

The TT we're looking at is the Forest River Wildcat Maxx lite T265BHX.
Here are the specs:
GVWR: 7828 lbs.
Hitch Weight: 828 lbs.
UVW: 6496 lbs.
CCC: 1332 lbs.
Exterior Length: 31' 8"

The TT dealership is talking about installing the Fastway E2 distribution hitch.

Whats the verdict? Anyone heard of that hitch? any recommendations to make it safer? Or, is this a dangerous pairing? Thanks so much for the help.
47 REPLIES 47

JnJnKatiebug
Explorer
Explorer
bob213 wrote:
My son in law had about the same setup. Pure white knuckle driving. Took most of the fun out of each trip worrying about the drive there and then home. You need more tow vehicle.